The Monte Carlo Rally is an annual car rally organized by the Automobile Club de Monaco in Monaco. The same club also organizes the Monte Carlo Formula 1 round.

The first Monte Carlo Rally was held in 1911, and until 1996, the Monte Carlo Rally hosted the Star Race. This means that the competitors started from different places and then gathered to measure each other. The 1933 winner M. Vaselle started from Tallinn for Estonia.

Colonna ja Monte-Carlo rally

Over time, Colonna has contributed to both culture and sports. In 2018, the Colonna Charity Fund was also launched, which primarily deals with contributions to children’s health care, education and sports activities in order to improve the lives of children and the future of Estonia as a whole.

As part of its contribution to society, Colonna has also supported the Monte Carlo Rally over the years. At the beginning of the new season of this year’s WRC series, it is good to remember, for example, the 2018 Monaco rally, where the Italians Manuel Villa and Daniele Michi entered the race with Colonna’s Skoda Fabia F5, where they also achieved their best result so far at the Monte Carlo rally and finished 16th overall .

Facts about Monte-Carlo rally

  • Rallye Monte-Carlo is the WRC’s jewel in the crown and the oldest in the calendar.
  • First run in 1911, it was designed to promote Monte-Carlo as a tourist destination, with competitors starting from different European cities before gathering in Monaco.
  • The 1966 rally became famed for its controversial outcome when giant-killing Mini Coopers claimed the top three places before being disqualified for alleged infringements of headlight regulations.
  • Sébastien Ogier’s 2019 victory was the closest in the rally’s history. The Frenchman won his sixth consecutive Monte by 2.2sec after a thrilling closing stage.